Early voting launches for primary in Randolph County

ASHEBORO – Early voting for the March primary begins this week in Randolph County.

The early voting window runs Feb. 15 through March 2.

There are national, statewide and local contests on the primary ballot.

In Randolph County, there are three Republicans on the primary ballot for the board of commissioners in District 5. They are incumbent Maxton McDowell of Asheboro along with Chris McLeod of Denton and Lester Rivenbark of Asheboro. Jane Ledwell-Gant was the lone Democrat to file for the District 5 seat, so she advances to the November ballot.

Voters will be asked for a valid photo identification when voting. As an alternative, voters without an ID can still vote and then bring a valid photo ID to the county board of elections by 5 p.m. on the ninth day after the designated election day.

Early voting locations in Randolph County are:

** Randolph County Board of Elections in Asheboro

** Braxton Craven School in Trinity

** Randleman Civic Center

** Franklinville United Methodist Church

Randolph County voters can cast ballots at any of those four locations through March 2. Polls are open from 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m. Monday through Friday; from 8 a.m.-6 p.m. Feb. 17; 1-6 p.m. Feb. 18; and 8 a.m.-3 p.m. March 2. There’s no early voting Feb. 24-25.

The primary election day is March 5, when voters can only vote at their assigned precinct.

By Bob Sutton