RCSS board incumbent Sink won’t be on ballot

Photo: Mike Sink

ASHEBORO – There will be at least one new member of the Randolph County School System’s board of education after the 2024 voting with incumbent Mike Sink choosing not to seek re-election.

There are four spots on the 2024 ballot for the seven-member board.

Board chairman Gary Cook and fellow incumbents Sharon Petty Farlow of Sophia and Tracy Boyles of Denton have filed to keep seats. Farlow is the board’s vice chair.

Rana Gantt of Trinity and Todd Cutler of Asheboro are the other candidates to file by last week’s deadline.

Sink, who turns 75 in January, has been a longtime educator. He’s a soccer and girls’ basketball coach at Trinity. He couldn’t be reached for comment.

There are six candidates for the Randolph County board of commissioners, including incumbent Asheboro Republicans Kenny Kidd and Maxton McDowell.

The last two to file were William McCaskill, a Democrat from Asheboro, and Jane Ledwell-Gant, also a Democrat from Asheboro. The other challengers are Republicans Lester Rivenbark III of Asheboro and Christopher McLeod of Denton.

Republican David Craven of Asheboro has a challenger for his N.C. Senate seat in District 29. Apparently, Craven’s only opposition will come in the general election from Democrat Kevin Clark of *Rockingham.

Susan Lee Scott, a Democrat from Asheboro, filed to oppose incumbent Brian Biggs, a Republican from Trinity, for N.C. House of Representatives Seat 70.

A pair of N.C. District Court Judge races have only one candidate, and they’re both Republicans. Rob Wilkins of Asheboro unopposed for District 37, Seat 2. Barron Thompson of Asheboro is unopposed for District 37, Seat 5.

The primary will be held March 5.

By Bob Sutton