RCSS receives electric bus as part of pilot program

The Randolph County School System is the first public school system in the state to receive an electric school bus as part of a pilot program funded by the North Carolina Volkswagen Settlement program.

Various school officials and representatives of other groups gathered last week to document the development.

In photo, left to right: Phillip Lanier, Randolph County Board of Education member; Michael Trent, Director of Innovative Energy Solutions, Randolph Electric Membership Corp.; Roy Parks, Western Regional Sales Manager, Carolina Thomas; Dr. Stephen Gainey, Superintendent, Randolph County School System; Elizabeth Biser, Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality; Shannon Whitaker, Randolph County Board of Education member; Kevin Harrison, Section Chief, Office of District Operations, North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.

By Randolph Record