Asheboro athletes rank high on Mid-Piedmont Conference lists

Jerquarius Stanback of Asheboro takes a shot during a boys’ basketball game at Ledford in the Mid-Piedmont Conference. He was named the league’s Player of the Year. (PJ Ward-Brown/Randolph Record)

Here’s a list of the Mid-Piedmont Conference’s major award winners plus Asheboro’s all-conference selections for winter sports:

Boys’ basketball

Player of the Year: Jerquarius Stanback (Asheboro)

Defensive Player of the Year: Tanner Marsh (Asheboro)

Coach of the Year: Brian Nance (Asheboro

Asheboro: Jerquarius Stanback, Tanner Marsh, Hakeeme Butler, D.J. Headen.


Girls’ basketball

Player of the Year: Trista Charles Stanback (Oak Grove)

Defensive Player of the Year: Haley Long (Oak Grove)

Coach of the Year: Sissy Rauch (Oak Grove)

Asheboro: Sion Murrain


Boys’ swimming

Swimmer of the Year: Connor Cayer (Central Davidson)

Co-Coaches of the Year: Jennifer Brinkley (North Davidson), Brian Thoma (Ledford)

Asheboro: Tyler Smith


Girls’ swimming

Swimmer of the Year: Jenna Koh (Ledford)

Coach of the Year: Rachel Greene (Oak Grove)

Asheboro: Megan Becker, Maci Columbia, Madison Burnette, Fiona Wolfe-Roberts



Wrestler of the Year: Diego Gutierrez (Asheboro)

Coach of the Year: Jake Berrier (Asheboro)

Asheboro: Diego Gutierrez, Bearik Bigelow, Xavier Santos, Sammy Salinas, Michael Brady, Eddie Soto

By Randolph Record