Municipal elections: Challengers displace two incumbents in Asheboro; New mayor picked in Ramseur

ASHEBORO – Not all incumbents were re-elected in Asheboro in the municipal elections.

Joey Trogdon received the most votes for a City of Asheboro council seat and that means only two of three incumbents will stay on the boards.

With three seats open, Trogdon pulled in 1,079 votes. Eddie Burks with 1,049 and Charles Swiers with 977 will keep their seats.

But Jane Hughes Redding was knocked off the council by finishing fourth with 924 votes. Harry Okeke had 381.

In the race for the Asheboro City Schools board of education, there was a similar pattern.

Melissa Calloway received the most votes (1,308), so she’ll be new on the board. The other two seats went to incumbents Ryan Patton (1,253) and Gidget Kidd (1,208).

Incumbent Gwen Williams won’t stay on the board after her fourth-place finish with 945. Todd Dulaney received 650 votes.

** There’s a change coming in Ramseur as Hampton Spivey was voted in as the next mayor. He received 97 votes compared to 66 votes for sitting mayor Vicki Caudle.

There were three seats open with three candidates for Ramseur town council. Tresa Cheek Hatchett (117) led the voting, followed by J.C. Parrish (90) and Jay Hubbard (77). Hatchett and Parrish are incumbents.

** In Randleman, the alderman at-large position went to Mike Dawkins (180), with Marty Leonard 129) and Kim Grooms Keaton (80) falling short.

In Ward 1, Steve Grooms Jr. (219) was the winner over Renee Bryant (162).

** In Liberty, mayor Filmore York was unopposed. For town commissioner, incumbent Don Herndon (112) and Greg Carpenter (72) were the only candidates for two seats.

** In Franklinville, two town council seats went to Priscilla Dunn (31) and Mac Whatley (25).

** In Staley, Karen Scotton stays as mayor, winning by a 35-13 margin on challenger Michelle Hooker-Ravenell.

By Bob Sutton