Caraway recognizes 2022 champions, gears up for more

Awards were presented Saturday night at Caraway Speedway.

SOPHIA – The top three drivers in each division were honored as part of Caraway Speedway’s awards banquet Saturday at the track.

In Late Models, Coy Beard guided the No. 27 car to the division championship for the second time in three years. He won four features. Tony Black was second and Donnie Apple placed third.

The Rookie of the Year in Late Models went to Jeffery Wood, who missed the last one-third of the season.

In Challengers, Brian Rose was the champion, aided by four victories. He held a 66-point edge on Matthew Smith, who was the division’s Rookie of the Year.

Smith had one victory and four top-five finishes on his way to one point more than third-place finisher Tommy Raino. Veteran driver Archie Adams Sr. was fourth.

In Modifieds, Carson Loftin secured the championship in the last points race of the season, edging Cody Norman. Loftin also was Rookie of the Year.

Loftin’s four-point margin came despite Norman’s five race victories. Jaxson Casper took third, winning once.

In Mini Stocks, Jimmy Crigger won four times on his way to the class championship. Rudy Hartley was the division’s runner-up, while Rookie of the Year Alex Higginson placed third.

In UCARs, Daniel Hughes claimed the division title, winning twice and placing second seven times. Teammate Corey Rose was second. Caleb Allred, the Rookie of the Year, was third.

The speedway will open its 2023 season of racing Jan. 29 with the Winter Heat 2023 with races in the following categories: Late Models (75 laps), Street Stocks (50), Challengers (40), Mini Stocks (40, UCARs (20) and Bootleggers (10).

This replaces what would have been the 2022 season-ending Thanksgiving Classic, which was called off because of weather concerns.

By Randolph Record