Casper, Smith, Sanders among Caraway Speedway winners

AJ Sanders collected the trophy in the Mini Stocks race Saturday night at Caraway Speedway. (Courtesy photo)

SOPHIA – Jaxon Casper was the winner of the Modifieds feature Saturday night at Caraway Speedway.

Casper finished ahead of Justice Calabro for the victory.

Matthew Smith was a repeat winner in Challengers. His second consecutive victory came when he finished ahead of Tommy Raino and Daniel Schadt.

Veteran driver AJ Sanders was the winner in Mini Stocks, cranking out the victory across 40 laps. Luke Smith and Bryson Pickard held the next two spots.

The Bootleggers race was won by Jon Morton, who was ahead of Bentley Black and John Turner at the end.

In UCARs, Justin Smith claimed the victory ahead of Daniel Hughes and Ron Mack in the regularly scheduled feature. In a make-up UCARs race, Mock captured first place with Jason Richmond and Smith in the next two positions in the 15-lap event.

Christian Joyce used an alternate car to win in Street Stocks for Bowman Gray Stadium drivers. Joyce had a blown engine in his car, but used Brad Lewis’ ride to secure his desired outcome in the 30-lap race. Nate Gregg was next, followed by fast qualifier Cale Martin. Martin received a bonus for being the leader at the halfway mark.

The next race night for cars in some of the speedway’s regular classes comes Oct. 7.

By Randolph Record