Sanders shows stuff in Caraway return

Josh Waldron and team members celebrate a weekend victory in the Challenger series at Caraway Speedway. (Courtsey photo)

SOPHIA – A.J. Sanders, past standout as a Caraway Speedway regular, was the winner in Saturday night’s Mini Stocks race at the track.

Sanders topped points leader Jimmy Crigger, who was second in the 40-lap event. Tommy Raino placed third.

Josh Waldron, a fill-in driver, claimed the race in the Challenger series.

Waldron was a substitute for Archie Adams Sr. as part of the “Caraway Strong” program.

Toby Lane placed second, followed by Raino.

Crigger and Raino had busy nights because they were first and second, respectively, in the Enduro/Any Car competition.

In the UCAR race, Alan Vance prevailed across the 20 laps. Steven Collins was second and Josh Phillips claimed third.

Caleb Allred and Jamie Vance posted victories in UCAR heat races.

The Bandolero race went to Phoenyx Kimball, who edged Bryson Brinkley.

In Legends, Charles Parker captured the victory. Kevin Yonker was the winner in the 10-lap Bootleggers race.

Rusty Harpe Memorial

The speedway’s busy stretch of action last week began with the Rusty Harpe Memorial, a rare midweek racing card.

Joey Coulter won the 99-lap by passing Bobby Labonte in the SMART Modifieds feature.

Coulter’s time of 1 hour, 53 minutes, 38.9 seconds was tops in a field that had 29 entries. Labonte, a former NASCAR Cup series champion, was in the 12th spot by the end.

Second place went to Caleb Heady, followed by Dennis Holdren, Kevin Orlando, Jeremy Gerstner and Troy Young.

Winston-Salem standouts Burt Myers (20th) and Jason Myers (24th) didn’t make impacts in the standings.

The pole award for the Modifieds went to Brian Loftin with a fast time of 16.189 seconds.

The Late Models race, which included 16 cars, was captured by defending champion Dylan Ward.

Heath Causey was second, with Coy Beard next followed by fast qualifier Trevor Ward, Justin Hicks, Boo Boo Dalton and Gary Causey.

In the 602 Modifieds was won by Paul Hartwig III. Carson Loftin was second.

By Randolph Record